Loading Events

« All Events

Ludlow Orchestra: Spring Concert

May 18 @ 19:30

Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16
Nielsen: Symphony No 1 in G minor, Op. 7
Leader: Claire Tocknell
Conductor: Jonathan Lyness
Piano: Gamal Khamis
Performance incudes an interval of approx 15/20mins.
UNDER 19s admitted free – no need for a ticket
For this exciting, uplifting and romantic spring programme the Ludlow Orchestra welcomes renowned pianist Gamal Khamis for one of the most popular piano concertos of them all, that by Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg, composed when he was just twenty. This is followed by Danish composer Carl Nielsen’s beautifully crafted first symphony, written when he was just twenty-seven but already demonstrating all of the power, expression and joyfulness that imbues his later symphonies. The concert opens with Zoltán Kodaly’s ever popular Dances of Galanta, full of Hungarian folk melodies with their syncopations and gypsy rhythms.
Gamal Khamis
“Formidable keyboard skills” The Times
“The performances were so remarkable” The Telegraph
“Khamis has the World literally at his fingertips” Classical Source


May 18
Event Category: